Skip to main content

Our Amazing Nurses!

nursing article 2

From health screenings to flu vaccines, CEC nursing students are gaining rewarding clinical experience working with elementary school students across the district while easing the workload of school nurses.

Click here to read the full article posted 10/21/14 on the APS website:  CEC Nurses in the Community

nursing article 1

CEC Course Catalog

LPN Program

Rev: Nov. 16, 2022

CEC's Licensed Practical Nursing Program is a unique high school Practical Nursing Program, with national and state accreditation that prepares high school graduates for entry-level practical nursing practice.  

Mission

In accordance with Albuquerque Public Schools, the Career Enrichment Center’s Practical Nursing Program’s mission is to enable qualified students from Albuquerque’s comprehensive high schools a unique opportunity to enter the nursing workforce as a competent beginner. The Career Enrichment Center’s PN nursing program prepares graduates with the knowledge, skills, moral and ethical principles that contribute to the development of nurses who provide quality nursing care and pursue lifelong learning.  The curriculum consists of courses which provide academic and occupational enrichment in nursing, prepare students for a career in health care, and for entry into post-secondary education.

Program Student Learning Outcomes
  • Professionalism
  • Communication
  • Assessment
  • Planning
  • Caring
  • Managing
  • Safety
The Licensed Practical Nurse will:
  • Demonstrate professional and ethical behavior characterized by adherence to standards of care, accountability for one’s own actions and behaviors, and use of legal and ethical principles defined in the scope of practice for practical nurses. 
  • Effectively communicate with patients, SO and members of the interdisciplinary health care team incorporating interpersonal and therapeutic communication skills. 
  • Collect holistic assessment data from multiple sources, communicate the data to appropriate health care providers, and evaluate client responses to interventions.  
  • Collaborate with the registered nurse or other members of the health care team to organize and incorporate assessment data to plan / revise patient care and actions based on established nursing diagnoses, nursing protocols, and assessment and evaluation data. 
  • Demonstrate a caring and empathetic approach to the safe, therapeutic, and individualized care of each client.
  • Implement patient care, at the direction of a registered nurse, licensed physician, or dentist through performance of nursing interventions or directing aspects of care as appropriate, to unlicensed assistive personnel. 
  • Actively and effectively collaborate and contribute to safe quality care for clients and significant others.  Safe practice will include activities to protect self and members of the health care team.  

Adapted from National Association for Practical Nursing and Service (NAPNES 2007) 


Nursing Program Instructors
Rebecca Weatherford LPN Nursing Program Director weatherford@aps.edu
Catherine Baum LPN Nursing Instructor catherine.baum@aps.edu
Margaret Hendrix LPN Nursing Instructor margaret.hendrix@aps.edu
Patricia Kious LPN Nursing Admissions Coordinator kious@aps.edu
Katrina Roanhorse LPN Nursing Instructor katrina.roanhorse@aps.edu
James Stapleton LPN Nursing Instructor james.stapleton@aps.edu

  

Clinical Nursing Instructors
Lucy Barabe Clinical Nursing Instructor snowqueen88@phs.org
Lorine Derusha Clinical Nursing Instructor lorine.derusha@aps.edu
Robert Duncan Clinical Nursing Instructor robert.duncan2@aps.edu
Alexandria Kawola Clinical Nursing Instructor alexandria.kowala@aps.edu
Lisa Kauffman Clinical Nursing Instructor lkauffman@comcast.net or kauffman@aps.edu
Mikayla Kujath Clinical Nursing Instructor mikayla.salazar@aps.edu
Tammy Meyer Clinical Nursing Instructor tammy.meyer@aps.edu
Karen Modjeska Oravec Clinical Nursing Instructor karenmodjeska@outlook.com
Pauline Tither Clinical Nursing Instructor pauline.tither@aps.edu
Fatima Wells Clinical Nursing Instructor fatima.wells@aps.edu